CSL Behring Heimburger Award Winners 2019)

Professor Heimburger Award

Celebrating Science

Professor Dr. Norbert Heimburger, a CSL Behring employee for over three decades, was a pioneer of modern coagulation therapy. Among his many achievements, Prof. Dr. Heimburger developed virus-safe plasma products based on pasteurization, including launching the first effectively virus-inactivated FVIII concentrate in 1981.

In his honor, CSL Behring created the Heimburger Award to recognize the clinical and/or preclinical research of emerging coagulation specialists who are driven to improve the care of patients with bleeding disorders. Learn More

Global Research Grant

CSL Behring is committed to supporting progress in the area of coagulation in the long run. Based on recent publications and feedback from the medical community, allowing the next generation of coagulation specialists to medically and scientifically establish themselves, it is important to ensure continued progress in this therapeutic area.

CSL Behring Heimburger AwardGrant Details and Eligibility

CSL Behring will set five global start-up grants of €20,000 each.

The grants are reserved for researchers who hold a medical degree. Applicants with less than five years of faculty experience in hemostasis will be preferred.

No matching funding is a prerequisite for this grant. The grants will be available for clinical and/or preclinical research in the area of coagulation.

Current Grant Cycle
   Application (PDF) 
Application Procedure

For inquiries regarding application, policy and procedures information, please contact us. Applications consisting of application form, short CV and research proposal (one-pager) must be postmarked by November 1, 2019 to be considered for the next cycle.


CSL Behring GmbH
Att. Dr. Birgit Voelker

Medical Affairs Commercial Development Hematology & Thrombosis
Emil-von-Behring-Strasse 76
35041 Marburg
T: +49 15144162483
e-mail: heimburger.award@cslbehring.com


Applications should be submitted in English to the address above.

2019 Heimburger Award Winners

2019 Heimburger Award Winners

At the 2019 Professor Heimburger Awards ceremony are (from left) CSL Behring’s Dr. Jens Oltrogge and Dr. Birgit Voelker; selection committee member Dr. Steven Pipe; award recipients Dr. Nicole A.M.Dekker, Dr. Derek J. B. Kleinveld, Dr. Samantha C. Gouw and Dr. Lize F.D. van Vulpen; and selection committee members Dr. Andreas Tiede and Dr. Laszlo Nemes. Absent from photo: Heimburger Award recipient Dr. Sol Schulman and Heimburger Award Selection Committee member Dr. Midori Shima.

Learn More

Prior Winners

  • Alexandre Theron, M.D., Medical School at Montpellier University (France)
  • Lindsey George, M.D., Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania (USA)
  • Jessica Heijdra, M.D., Erasmus University Medical Center, Rotterdam (Netherlands)
  • Samantha Donkel, M.D., Erasmus University Medical Center, Rotterdam (Netherlands)
  • Ferdows Atiq, M.D., Erasmus University Medical Center, Rotterdam (Netherlands)
  • Maaike Blaauwgeers, M.D., University Medical Center Utrecht (Netherlands)
  • Beth Warren, M.D., University of Colorado Anschutz Medial Campus (USA)
  • Saravanan Subramaniam, M.D., McAllister Heart Institute, UNC (USA)
  • Sandra Le Quellec, M.D., Hôpital Cardiologique Louis Pradel, France (France)
  • Elise Huisman, M.D., Erasmus MC Sophia (Netherlands)
  • Antonino Cannavò, M.D., Angelo Bianchi Bonomi Hemophilia and Thrombosis Centre, Fondazione IRCCS Ca’ Granda Ospedale Maggiore Policlinico (Italy)
  • Christopher Ng, M.D., University of Colorado Denver, University of Colorado Hemophilia and Thrombosis Center (USA)
  • Alessandro Casini, M.D., University Hospitals of Geneva, Unit of Angiology and Haemostasis (Switzerland)
  • Johan Boender, M.D., Erasmus University Medical Center Rotterdam (Netherlands)
  • Michiel Coppens, M.D., Academisch Medisch Centrum (Netherlands)
  • Ashwini Bennett, M.D., Hematology Department, Monash Health (Australia)
  • Bryce Andrew Kerlin, M.D., Associate Professor of Pediatrics, The Ohio State University College of Medicine (USA)
  • Jenny Klintman, M.D., Skane University Hospital, Clinical Collaboration Research Unit Lund University (Sweden)
  • Tesse Leunissen, M.D., University Medical Centre Utrecht (Netherlands)
  • Michelle Sonneveld, M.D., Erasmus University Medical Center (Netherlands)
  • Satoshi Nishimura, M.D., PhD, Jichi Medical University, Center for Molecular Medicine, (Japan)
  • Dominic Pepperell, M.D., Royal North Shore Hospital and Sydney University, (Australia)
  • Axel Schlagenhauf, M.D., Department of General Pediatrics and Adolescent Medicine, Medical University of Graz (Austria)
  • Marleen Straat, M.D., Academic Medical Center Amsterdam (Netherlands)
  • Alice van Velzen, M.D., Emma Children’s Hospital, Academic Medical Center (Netherlands)
  • Marije Baaij, M.D., University Medical Center Utrecht (Netherlands)
  • Brain Branchford, M.D., University of Colorado School of Medicine, Children‘s Hospital Colorado (USA)
  • James David McFadyen, M.D., Australian Centre for Blood Diseases, Alfred Hospital and Monash University (Australia)
  • Karin Petronella Maria van Galen, M.D., University Medical Center Utrecht Van Creveldkliniek (Netherlands)
  • Heiko Ruhl, M.D., Institute of Experimental Haematology and Transfusion Medicine, University Hospital Bonn (Germany)
More Information 

Grant statutes are available by downloading Research Grant Statutes.

Note: To view this document, you must have Adobe Acrobat Reader installed. Reader is available as a free download from Adobe Systems Inc.

R&D Capabilities

See what we're working on.

Learn More
Product Pipeline

Delve into our portfolio of new products, improved products and manufacturing expertise.

Learn More
Our Products

Discover CSL's life-saving therapies.

Learn More

Get our latest Vita stories in your inbox

First name
Last name


You have now been added
to the CSL Behring Vita list